Skip to content

Areas & Districts

Minnesota is one of 6 states in the US that are divided into 2 Areas

Al Anon and Alateen in the United States and Canada is made up of 67 Areas. In the US, most Areas consist of a whole state. Minnesota has two Areas:

The boundary consists of the north borders of Washington, Anoka, Wright, Meeker, Kandiyohi, Swift and Big Stone counties. Most of the groups in the Twin Cities metropolitan area are in the Minnesota South Area, although a few are in the Minnesota North Area or the Wisconsin Area.

Areas, including Minnesota South, have regularly scheduled Assemblies (April and October for Minnesota South) attended by Group Representatives (GRs) from groups in the Area as well as any Al Anon or Alateen members who wish to attend. They gather for the common purpose of reviewing Area finances, policies and procedures, electing officers (every 3 years), discussing the general business of the Area and ways the Area can help families and friends of Alcoholics through its trusted servants and groups.

Al‑Anon/Alateen Areas are divided into Districts, each containing one or more Al‑Anon and/or Alateen groups.

Each district should have a District Representative (DR) as well as other District officers, but not all do. Most districts have regularly scheduled district meetings to which every group in the district is entitled to send its GR.


Groups of Al-Anon and Alateen members are formed within the districts and hold regular, usually weekly, meetings. 


Are people who joined Al-Anon/Alateen seeking like-minded people for support and for sharing experience, strength and hope with the family disease of alcoholism.

Minnesota South Area is divided into 21 Districts. Previous to redistricting accomplished at the March 2015 Area Assembly, there were 44 districts, although many were not organized and existed only on paper, lacking even a DR. There were even a couple of districts with no groups. Before the redistricting, multiple districts (for example Districts 31 – 33) functioned as a single district. The March 2015 redistricting made such combinations single districts.

Districts within Minnesota South Area

  • District 1: Washington County
  • District 2: Dakota County
  • District 3: Goodhue, Rice and Wabasha Counties
  • District 4: Fillmore, Houston, Olmstead and Winona Counties
  • District 5: Anoka County north of 85th Avenue
  • District 6: Anoka County south of 85th Avenue
  • District 7: Ramsey County except for St. Paul and St. Anthony. This includes Arden Hills, Falcon Heights, Gem Lake, Lauderdale, Little Canada, Mounds View, New Brighton, North Oaks, Roseville, Shoreview, Vadnais Heights, and White Bear Lake
  • District 8: Saint Paul
  • District 9: Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Champlin, Corcoran, Crystal, Dayton, Greenfield, Hassan, Independence, Maple Grove, Maple Plain, Medina, Minnetrista, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth, Robbinsdale, Rogers, and St. Bonifacius.
  • District 10: Minneapolis and St. Anthony, except for the area bounded on the west by the St. Louis Park and Edina, on the south by Highway 62 (Crosstown), on the east by I35W and by a northern boundary consisting of Lake Street, Hennepin Avenue and I394
  • District 11: Crystal Bay, Deephaven, Eden Prairie, Edina, Excelsior, Golden Valley, Greenwood, Hopkins, Long Lake, the part of Minneapolis not included in District 10, Minnetonka, Minnetonka Beach, Navarre, Orono, Shorewood, Spring Park, St. Louis Park, Tonka Bay, Wayzata, and Woodland
  • District 12: Bloomington and Richfield
  • District 13: Carver and Scott Counties
  • District 14: Dodge, Freeborn, Mower, Steele and Waseca Counties
  • District 15: McLeod and Wright Counties
  • District 16: Brown, Le Sueur, Nicollet and Sibley Counties and the northern parts of Blue Earth and Watonwan Counties. The dividing line is from the western border of Watonwan County, 10 miles south of Darfur to the eastern border of Blue Earth County, 10 miles south of St. Clair
  • District 17: Faribault, Martin and the southern parts of Blue Earth and Watonwan Counties
  • District 18: Big Stone, Chippewa, Lac Qui Parle and Swift Counties
  • District 19: Kandiyohi, Meeker and Renville Counties
  • District 20: Lincoln, Lyon, Redwood and Yellow Medicine Counties
  • District 21: Cottonwood, Jackson, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone and Rock Counties

We’re Here to Help